BLDE University's Shri B.M.Patil Medical College, Hospital & Research Centre
BLDE University, Vijayapur, Karnataka, India

Click here to edit subtitle

Professor Ronald M Harden 


Department of Physiology completely believe the teaching and philosophy of Professor Ron Harden-world celebrity Medical Educationist and inventor of OSCE.

Bio-sketch: Professor Harden was formerly Professor of Medical Education, Teaching Dean and Director of the Centre for Medical Education at the University of Dundee. Professor Harden is a world leader in medical education. He is committed to developing new approaches to curriculum planning, assessment and to teaching and learning. Ideas which he has pioneered include the Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE) which has been universally adopted as a standard approach to assessment of clinical competence. He has published more than 400 papers in leading journals. He is co-editor of the best-selling book – “A Practical Guide for Medical Teachers”. His contributions to excellence in medical education have attracted numerous awards including an honorary fellowship of the Royal College of Physicians, Surgeons of Canada, the prestigious Hubbard Award by the National Board of Medical Examiners in the USA and recognition by the Kellogg Foundation for his contributions to medical education in South America. He was awarded by the Queen the OBE for his services to medical education. He was presented in Singapore in February 2006 with the ‘Mentoring, Innovation and Leadership in Education Scholarship' (MILES) award for ‘outstanding contributions to the advancement of global medical education and academic medicine’.  In 2006 Professor Harden was the winner of the  Karolinska Institutet prize for  Research in Medical Education. The purpose of the prize  is to recognise and

stimulate high quality research in medical education in order to promote long-term improvements of educational practices in medical training. In 2009 he was awarded the ASME Richard Farrow Gold Medal, in recognition of the contributions he has made to medical education. In 2010 he was the recipient of the AMEE 2010 Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of his contributions to medical education and the work of the Association.                                                

Prof.Ron Harden with Prof Das (2013)


List of Postgraduate (MD-Physiology) from the Department:-


S.No.     Name                                    Year of Passing


1             Dr. Manjunatha Aithala                        Sep 2001

2            Dr. Sumangala Patil                              Sep.2003

3            Dr. Lata Mullur                                Apr 2005

4            Dr. Chandrashekhar Karpoor                 Apr 2006

5            Dr. C M Kulkarni                                 Sep 2000

6            Dr. S A Loni                                        Sep 2007

7            Dr. M N Baig                                       Apr 2008

8            Dr. S M Patil                                       Oct 2008

9            Dr. S Sujatha Talikoti                           Oct 2008

10           Dr. Shailaja Patil                                 May 2009

11            Dr. Mahesh J Patil                               Sep 2009

12           Dr. Shrilaxmi Bagali                             May 2010

13           Dr. Gouhar Banu                                  Oct 2010

14           Dr. Nandini B N                                   May 2011

15           Dr. Jyoti K                                          May 2011

16           Dr. Anita Teli                                      Apr 2012

17           Dr. Sangeeta T                                     Apr 2012

18           Dr. Anita Deshpande                            Apr 2013

19           Dr. Santosh Palekar                              Apr 2013

20          Dr. Yogita Khade                                  Apr 2015
21           Dr.Sowmya Koraddi                              Apr.2016


List of BLDE University MD (Physiology) Students (Current)

1. Dr.Amrutha K (2016-2019)

M.Sc (Medical Physiology) Awardee:-

1.  Mr.M.A.Mujawar (2015)

2. Mr. S.K.Attar (2015)  

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------List of BLDE University PhD Awardee

1.   Dr.Satish G.Patil-   (2014)

2.  Dr.Soma Choudhuri-(2015)

3.  Dr.Praveen S.Patil - (2016)

4.  Dr.Bhandali Jyoti - (2017)


MBBS -I University Physiology Results Analysis


Total Students Appeared :148

Number of Students Successful: 114

Success Percentage: 77%

- Distinction: 24

- 1st Class: 53

- Pass : 37


Undergraduate Student's Seminar

Undergraduate Seminar

Department of Physiology takes initiative to conduct several UG-Seminar. In the seminar students present their selected topics under the mentorship of one of the faculty members. At the seminar all the student participants are awarded certificates.(Photo: Student receiving certificate from Dr.B.M.Bannur Professor & Head, Dept. of Anatomy. Dr.Manjunatha Aithala is also seen here

Undergraduate Poster Presentation

Department routinely organized poster presentation for Undergraduate students. This event is well received by the students. The best posters are rewarded with citations.



©2018 Department of Physiology, BLDE University's Shri B.M.Patil Medical College, Hospital and Research Centre, Vijayapura-586103, Karnataka,India



Tulane University School of Medicine Confers "Visiting Professor" to Prof.Kusal K Das & Prof.Dr.M.S.Biradar

Tulane University School of Medicine, New Orleans,USA confers 'Visiting Professor' title to Kusal K Das, Professor of Physiology & Prof.M.S.Biradar,Vice Chancellor of BLDE University for 2017. Both the Professor visited Tulane University with an invitation to sign MOU between the university in research collaboration and faculty exchange program. Prof.Das & Prof.Biradar delivered lectures on 6 th & 9th.February 2017 respectively.


Prof.Kusal K.Das has been appointed as a Member of Education Committee of International Union of Physiological Sciences (IUPS) for the period till 31st December 2017. The Education Committee is Chaired and Co-Chaired by Professor Robert G.Carroll (East Carolina University) and Vice-Chaired by Maria José Al da Rocha (Reo de Geneira)

For details please click here.


Prof.Kusal K.Das has been appointed as an External Member of Pre Clinical BOS (Post Graduate) of Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences (RGUHS), Karnataka, Bangalore for the period of three years i.e. 2015-2018.

Prof.Kusal K Das has been appointed as Editor in Chief of "BLDE University Journal of Health Sciences" ( Published by Wolters Kluwer Ltd)